top of page
  • Writer's pictureAirjayp

Kyrie 8 Infinity Performance Review

If you are a Kyrie kicks lover as I am, your definitely going to enjoy these!



What is going on everyone? We are back with another performance review and as you can tell from the title were going to be talking about the 8th model from the Kyrie line!


Before jumping in I will note all testing was done indoors on this sneaker.


Traction: 5


The traction on Kyrie models are always a strongpoint and the 8s are no exception to that as the traction performs very, very well. From initial view or look, I was a little worried about the traction pattern covering all aspects of the floor, but after playing in them it does its job very well. I had no issues laterally or vertically. I was also able to start and stop with ease and just to my liking. There are some pretty wide grooves to the outsole, but they are also very stiff or hard to the touch meaning they should hold up very well and be very durable for the long run. I also foresee these holding up or being well to be used outdoors also, but it is not something I tested myself. Overall I had absolutely zero issues out of these from a traction standpoint hence the perfect rating of 5. If you have enjoyed Kyrie models in the past from a traction standpoint, you will like these just as much!


Fit: 4


At the time I got these, there was really no stock whatsoever in the US, so I was forced to order this pair overseas which is no big deal, but obviously I was not able to try them on before purchasing. I also was not able to get my true half size of an 11.5 due to ordering and had to go down half a size. Kyrie's which we all know have a very snug fit, and these being no exception to that going down half makes for a very snug fit. It is not something that bothered me to bad as I love my basketball shoes to be snug in the first place, but I do believe going true to size is the best option on these. My pair did break in and loosen up some, but still not to the point that going true to size would have fit like. Overall I recommend going true to size on the Kyrie, unless you are looking for a super snug fit.



Materials: 5


I actually thought the materials that were used on the 8s were a very nice touch and had some premium notches we are not used to always getting on modern day basketball sneakers. The shoe is comprised of mostly leather and mesh on the upper, mostly being mesh. The materials feel lightweight which is something I always prefer on court. The hints and panels of leather are nice quality on my pair as I figure it will be on most all pairs as well. The top of the tongue also features leather as well which is another nice touch. The leather quality is soft to the touch and one that will break in nicely, but hold up very well also. The materials were breathable on court and I didn't have any issues with them from a performance standpoint either. The materials on the K8 will not disappoint In my opinion and in most cases will probably exceed expectations.


Cushion: 4


The cushion on the Kyrie 8 is something that I personally like, and others may not be as fond of. If you have played in many Kyrie models in the past you know most of the time or basically all the time they feature more court feel than a very cushioned feel. These are no different. The shoes feature a foam midsole with an air zoom unit in the forefoot. This setup feels nice on court, but I do feel the previous models with zoom turbo may have been a little more plush or offered a little more comfort to the feel. For me personally this is not really a positive or negative as I almost always prefer court feel over cushion, but at the same time I do feel these are not as plush as say maybe the 7s. This can be a strong point or weak point to the shoe depending on preference. Personally I liked these from a cushion standpoint on court, but I also as I have said prefer court feel. If your wanting these to feel like a Lebron model on court or are expecting it these are just not going to be that way. These are an updated Kyrie model that continues down the line of the same cushion type feel we have got in the past and I have no issues with that!



Lockdown: 5


The lockdown on the 8s is another strongpoint and I feel like a point that most will like if playing in these. As mentioned in the fit from initially just putting these on your going to notice a nice snug fit which makes you already initially feel locked in. I really like the lacing system which allows you to get the sneaker even more snug to your liking for a very nice locked in fit. The heel area also has a very nice snug and locked in feel with no real movement while on court. The heel area is also very nicely padded and gives a nice comfortable feel while on court. There is also a nice little outrigger to the shoe to help with tipping/keeping grounded to the floor. The lockdown to the shoe had me feeling safe at all times while on court. The shoe has a very nice, snug, locked in feel pretty much at all times with also giving you the ability to tighten or loosen the sneakers to your liking with the lacing system which is something I always prefer. The Kyrie 8 will not disappoint from a lockdown standpoint whatsoever or it sure didn't in my opinion.



Overall: 4


The Kyrie line from Nike has pretty much been my favorite signature line since it began back with the 1s. The Kyrie 8 kept on that path and is a shoe that I really enjoyed on court and one that I could play in day in and day out for a long period of time. I personally had no issues really from any aspect of the shoe except for maybe the fit and that was only because at the time of purchase they did not have half sizes available. I cannot really fault the shoe for that as I could have waited to get the correct size. If we are talking straight performance and feel on court I have zero complaints and only compliments. The traction is super solid as it seems to basically always be on Kyrie models. We all know how important traction is to me at this point! The cushion is about what is to be expected from the line and that's mostly court feel which is fine, and the lockdown/fit is super snug which hence keeps you safe on court at all times. Don't forget the materials are nice and more premium than we are used to getting as well! I would say you are getting an all around pretty solid shoe with the Kyrie 8!



Thank You For Checking Out This Review On The Kyrie 8!


Have A Great Week & As Always Happy Hooping!

Comments


bottom of page