top of page
  • Writer's pictureAirjayp

Nike Zoom Greek Freak 2


If you liked the 1s at all you are going to love these! A definite upgrade in all categories! Let’s check it out!


What’s up guys? Airjayp back here with another performance review and today let’s give you my results on the Nike Zoom Greek Freak 2!





Traction: 3


I absolutely loved the traction setup and pattern on this shoe. I started out testing these indoors as I was finally able to get an indoor court to play on. They worked out great indoors laterally and vertically with no issues at all. I liked them so much I wanted to test them with my weekly outdoor pickup group and I did just that! They worked very well for me outdoors as well and no issues whatsoever from me. The only possible issue outdoors may be the rubber not holding up for a long period of time. There isn’t any noticeable wear for me on the traction at this time, but I just have the feeling if I keep playing in them outdoors it will wear off pretty quickly.


Fit: 3


True to size is definitely best. They are a pretty narrow shoe so wide footers may want to try them on first but overall you should be good to go true to size.


Lockdown: 3

The shoe does feel pretty tight and keeps you very locked in from this standpoint. I had no issues feeling in danger of rolling my ankle or moving around really any at all in the shoe. I would consider these to be more of a mid/low and sometimes the cut on this type of shoe can give me some issues, but these worked out great. There is a nice TPU on the outer side of the shoe which definitely helps out great for stability and keeping you safe in the shoe. Overall the lockdown worked out great for me.


Cushion: 2

The Greek Freak 2 features zoom air in the forefoot. I’ll be honest I liked the cushion setup, but it is definitely firm and will offer you a ton of court feel. You are not going to get a super soft or plush setup as you may get out of a Lebron model, but if you do prefer court feel you will enjoy these. They definitely could offer some more cushion, especially if you were going to use these only outdoors. After playing outdoors in them they do give my knees some pain, but overall indoors I was fine. I do think the cushion setup on the 1s overall may have been better and more comfortable, but with me most of the time preferring court feel I can’t complain a whole lot about these either.


Materials: 3

I went with the white cement colorway and absolutely love them but the only issue with the materials is the normal issue with a white shoe. They are going to get super dirty. The materials on the positive side are super lightweight and I feel will be very durable as well. They definitely are not premium, but In my opinion, they are a definite upgrade from the Greek Freak 1!




Overall: 2

I literally had fun every single time I put this shoe on to hoop in. I even enjoyed taking these to the gym just for leg day. The shoe just seems to work out well for me on the court. I basically have zero issues except for the cushion outdoors. If you are looking for a super-cushioned sneaker these may not be for you, but if you are looking for court feel your gonna want to try these out. A great comparison is if you enjoy Lebrons a lot you may not like these, but if you enjoy Kyries you will probably love these. I gave them a 2 instead of 3 because of the pain in my knees after playing outdoors, but at almost 30 now that happens to me in almost any shoe. If you are looking for a good, fun, great-priced hoop shoe you definitely need to try these out!


Have A Great Week & As Always Happy Hooping!



bottom of page